Rules of Cricket- How to play a Cricket in 5 step

 Welcome to Modern Sports blogs! Here, you can find all the information you need to know about Rules of Cricket . Whether you’re a beginner or an expert, you will learn tips, rules, and strategies to help you become a better cricket player. We’ll also provide you with updates on recent changes in the game, so you can keep up with the latest trends. If you have any questions, feel free to ask in the comments and we’ll be happy to answer them. 

Cricket is a sport governed by a set of rules and regulations, known as the Laws of Cricket. These rules are maintained and updated by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) with additional Standard Playing Conditions for Test matches and One Day Internationals.The rules cover all aspects of the game, including the equipment used, the duration of the match, the fielding and bowling regulations, the scoring system and the actions of the players.


Rules of Cicket

1. Cricket is a game played between two teams of eleven players. 

2. Each team takes its turn to bat and bowl.

3. The aim of the batting team is to score as many runs as possible in the allotted number of overs.

4. The aim of the bowling team is to prevent the batting team from scoring runs and to take wickets.

5. The team with the highest score at the end of the match is the winner.

6.The players of the bowling team must bowl the ball at the batsman according to the rules of cricket game.

7.The players of the batting team must protect their wicket while they attempt to score runs by hitting  the ball away from the fielders.

9.The two umpires will decide whether a batsman is out or not.

10.In limited overs cricket, each team has a limited number of Overs in which to bat.


Rules of Cricket

In Rules of Cricket, a boundary is the edge of the pitch or a hit where the ball is struck on or over that edge. A boundary is signalled by the raising of a hand or arm by the umpire. Depending on the type of game, there are specific rules for awarding boundaries.

In one-day cricket and Twenty20, four runs are scored whenever the ball crosses the boundary in the air without touching the ground first, either after being hit by the batsman or having been deflected off another player (such as a fielder).

In Test cricket and first-class cricket, six runs are awarded when the ball is hit to or beyond the boundary in the air, provided that the ball is not touched by a fielder (including the wicket-keeper). If the ball is touched by a fielder before crossing the boundary line, then four runs are awarded instead. Additionally, if a fielder catches the ball on the boundary line, then no runs are awarded.


  1. Number of players in a team: 11 according to the rules of cricket game.
  2. Number of players per side in the field: 11
  3. Number of balls in an over: 6 according to the rules of cricket game.
  4. Number of minutes in a day’s play: 480
  5. Number of fielders allowed outside the 30-yard circle: 5
  6. Boundary distance requirement: 65 yards (60 meters)
  7. Size and weight of a cricket ball: 9-9.5 ounces (155-163.8 grams)
  8. Size of a cricket bat: 38-40 inches (96.5-101.5 cm) according to the rules of cricket game.


  1. Two teams of 11 players each compete on a cricket field.
  2. The fielding team sets up a diamond formation, with two batsmen from the other team positioned at opposite ends of the pitch.
  3. The team with the bat attempts to score as many runs as possible by hitting the ball, running between the wickets and dodging the fielders.
  4. The bowler (the fielder who throws the ball) attempts to prevent runs being scored by delivering balls that the batsmen are unable to hit.
  5. Each team has 10 wickets (out) before they have to retire. According to the rules of cricket game.
  6. Once 10 wickets have been taken, the batting team is out and the fielding team is declared the winner.
  7. The team with the most runs at the end of the match is the winner.


In Rules of Cricket, the term ‘No Ball’ is used to describe a specific type of delivery by a bowler which is illegal. A no ball occurs when the bowler oversteps the popping crease, bowls a full toss over waist height, or fails to bowl from the correct place. A no ball is an unfair delivery and results in a one-run penalty for the batting team, as well as the batsman being allowed a single if the ball is hit.

A Wide Ball in cricket is a type of delivery that is deemed to be out of the batsman’s reasonable reach. It is indicated by an umpire raising one arm above the head when calling a wide. A wide ball results in an extra run being awarded to the batting team and an extra ball being added to the over.

In Rules of Cricket, a run is scored when a Batsman hits a Ball and then runs to the other end of the pitch and reaches the crease of the opposite wicket. This is known as a run. The batsman can also score a run by hitting the ball to the boundary, which is called a boundary.

In cricket, a total of six runs are possible in one ball. One run is scored when the batsman runs to the other end of the pitch and reaches the crease before the fielder collects the ball. A boundary is scored when the batsman hits the ball to the boundary and it does not touch the ground before crossing the boundary. A boundary is worth four runs. A batsman can also score two runs by hitting a ball which touches the boundary, but does not cross it.

More Information to – Click here

Close-up, abstract view of architecture.

Open Spaces

See case study ↗

Shopping Basket